This PER Branch Reunion was held at the Ledgeview Golf Course

ABBOTSFORD BC on 25-27 Sep 2010             


 Ledgeview's Signature Hole, #8



1.       The Registration and Meet and Greet took place at 5 PM on Fri 25 Sep at the Ledgeview Golf Club. A welcome package and name tags were issued on registration. The Meet and Greet consisted of a no host bar and a fine selection of hot and cold finger food. A DVD presentation of photos from the 2008 Reunion made by Ray Bootland was enjoyed by all throughout the M&G. In addition, a DVD with the photos and short obituary of the 17 alumni that passed away between the last reunion and this one was also available on the large screen. Bob Beaver entertained us with his karaoke providing some enthusiastic renditions by himself, Cal Callaghan, Mike and Wendy Robillard, Pat Chatwin, Ron Carlton and many hummy-hoos who sang from their chairs or hid behind others to warble their feeble attempts. Methinks if we could have wrested the mike from Carlton, others might have tried it too!  Just a hoot and a lot of fun.

Ivan Lewis' widow, Ingrid was in the area visiting from NS so she and her daughter dropped in for a short time during the the meet and greet.

2.       A golf tournament using a form of Texas Scramble was played. The first tee-time was at 1108 with 11 teams participating. Once again, the clouds and rain dissipated overnight and a bright, warm, sunny day greeted us for the golf tournament.   All golfers brought a prize valued at $15-$20 and several alumni donated additional prizes; thank you very much - Dale Dirks; Drew Schamehorn and Chuck Johnston. Because of their thoughtfulness, we had an abundance of prizes. Those who forgot to bring one put $15 in the kitty for expenses. Tom and Jeannie Walton were on vacation, but graciously donated $150 to help defray the overall costs.

3.        At dinner the names of the 17 members (John Berman, Pete Chellew, Gord Fallkner, Bill Griesbach, Hal Halikowski, Heather Hogan, Jimmie Jack, Alf Johnston, Bill Lawrence, Mike Mercredi, Gord Perry, Archie Pitt, Cliff Ruttan, Jim Searle, Jack Waldron, John Waller and Sam Wiscombe) that had recently passed away were announced and a moment of silence was observed for all of our alumni who have passed away or were unable to attend due to illness. The hot buffet dinner commenced at 1730 hrs and consisting of steak or chicken, mixed vegetables, buns, coffee and delectable desserts. Prizes for the winners of the KP and longest tee shots for men and women were selected first, then team score cards were drawn from a hat to determine the order of prize selection.

After dinner a professional entertainer put on a very entertaining show with audience participation from Ken MacDonald, Gerry Vowles and Gerry Porter; Jack read a poem written by Billy Willbond about Louise Maziarski now serving in Afghanistan; Jim Percival reminisced with short vignettes on many of his fellow old jocks; Mike Robillard played his guitar and sang a song about PERIs written by Manny Raspberry, (an EXCELLENT song, performed extremely well); Hank Tatarchuk related a spoof about a religious driver and by popular demand Jack performed his hilarious solo version of "Chelsea Pensioners."

4.        Tickets for a 50-50 draw were sold by Ken's roving and very lovely assistants Claire Jacque Plant and Yvonne MacDonald. The 50-50 was won by Herb MacAulay. After dinner, tickets for an additional draw were sold by Lynn Belley at her table. The draw was for a wine box with two bottles of wine inside (box and wine were made and donated by Chuck Johnston) and draws were continuously made until all of the several remaining items left on the table were gone. The Hummerstone group seemed to monopolize these prizes.

5.       The “no host” farewell breakfast between 9 and 9:30 AM on Sunday at the Clubhouse was attended by about 24 people.


6.       There were 62 registrants (38 from BC; 23 from AB and 1 from ON), 62 were at the Meet and Greet; 40 golfed and 66 had dinner.

          Registrants were:


Alexander, Les

Beauchene, Joe & Phyllis 

Beaver, Bob

Belley, Lynn 

Blaney, Mark

Bootland, Ray & Marg

Buchanan, Tony & Marion 

Callaghan, Kevin

Carlton, Ron & Shirley Craig 

Chatwin, Mike & Patricia

Dobson, Ed

Harvey, Ken & Lynda 

Hayward, Richard & Miriam

Hummerstone, Erik & Jill (Guests) 

Hummerstone, Fred & Carol 

Johnston, Chuck & Karen 

Kernaghan, Ralph & Marilyn

Labbe, Ray & Lila

MacAulay, Herb & Barb

MacDonald, Ken & Yvonne

Mayne, Harry & Marion

McBride, Jack & Marion

McGarry, Gerry & Jamie Tidman

McGarry guests (4)

Percival, Jim


Plant, Garry & Claire

Porter, Jerry & Arlene

Robillard, Mike & Wendy

Schmitz, Wolf

Smith, Jack & Anne

Sugden, Lynn

Sullivan, Ed & Daughter Sheila

Tatarchuk, Hank

Vanier, Chris

Vowles, Jerry & Dianne

Walters, Wish

Whitecross, Ian


NB.   Harry & Marion Mayne and Ralph and Marilyn Kernaghan were registered but could not attend because of an accident to Harry and a heart problem with Ralph.



7.     a.   Ladies Closest to Pin Winners - Lynda Harvey and Patricia Chatwin

        b.   Mens Closest To Pin Winners - Hank Tatarchuk and Gerry McGarry

        c.   Ladies Long Drive - Phyllis Beauchene

        d.   Mens Long Drive -  Ron Carlton       


Team results        

1.  Team 12 score 66 - Ron Carlton, Ken & Lynda Harvey


          2.  Team 05 score 67 - Cal Callaghan, Bob Beaver, Jamie Tidman, Gerry McGarry

3.  Team 04 score 68 - Mike & Patricia Chatwin, Lynn Sugdent, Lynn Belley

4.  Team 10 score 71 - Chris Vanier, Les Alexander, Rich Hayward

5.   Team 08 score 74 - Hank Taterchuk, Wish Walters, Tony Buchanan, Ray Labbe

6.   Team 02 score 75 - Wolf Schmitz, Fred Hummerstone, Jim Percival

7.   Team 06 score 77 - Jack McBride, Chuck & Karen Johnston


8.   Team 01 score 78 - Joe & Phyllis Beauchene, Ken & Yvonne MacDonald

9.   Team 07 score 79 - Ian Whitecross, Mark Blaney, Herb MacAulay

10. Team 03 score 83 - Jerry & Arlene Porter, Ray & Marg Bootland

11. Team 09 score 82 - Jack & Ann Smith, Mike & Wendy Robillard


8.       The Skip Schamehorn (the first RSM of CFSPER.)Trophy was donated by Skip's son Drew in 2003 and is inscribed each year with names selected by the Committee. Among other factors, nominees must be strong supporters of the reunion. The trophy is currently being stored in Ron Carlton's house. Inscribees for the past seven years are:

2003 - Terry Burns, Chuck Johnston, Ron Carlton and Hank Tatarchuk

2004 - Harvey Gates, Dale Dirks, Jerry Porter and Tom Walton

2005 - Harry Mayne, Bev Burrows, Ed Sullivan and Ken Harvey

2006 - Ralph Kernaghan; Ken MacDonald, Lee Roberge and Jack McBride

2007 - Ray Bootland, Lois Walker, Don Sheppard and Al Stoddard

2008 - Fred Hummerstone; Herb MacAulay; Joe Beauchene and Roy Kemp

2010 - Ian Whitecross; Mike Chatwin; Jack Smith and Wish Walters


Ken presenting the trophy to Ian, Wish, Jack and Mike


9.     Click for more photos provided by Ray Bootland. (photos)

For a youtube version of some of the entertainment follow this link.


10.     The entire function was self-supporting with entry fees covering costs. Our financial status is as follows


Opening balance as at 25 Sep 2010
Registration & Donation
$   165.00
Meet & Greet and Dinner
Golf Fees
$   700.00
Stationary and Engraving
$     58.91






11.   It is recommended that:

  • the reunion be held again in Abbotsford in Sep 2012,
  • the format remain the same,
  • vegetarians/vegans be considered when ordering the finger food and dinner menus,
  • we continue to draw team score cards from a hat to determine the order of prize selection,
  • we continue to hire a professional entertainer, and
  • we solicit more donated prizes for auction or draw to support the hiring of entertainment.